A Dance in Donegal

Cover Art

Where to Purchase

About

"Jennifer Deibel's debut is rich in atmosphere, family mystery, and sweet romance. A gem!"--Julie Klassen, author of The Bridge to Belle Island


All her life, Boston-born Moira Doherty has relished her mother's descriptions of the Emerald Isle. When her mother dies unexpectedly in the summer of 1920, Moira is compelled to fulfill her dying wish--that she become the teacher in Ballymann, the beloved village in Donegal, Ireland, she's heard so much about.

After an arduous voyage, Moira begins a challenging new job in an unfamiliar and ancient country. Though a few locals offer a warm welcome, others are distanced by superstition and suspicion. Rumors about Moira's mother are unspoken in her presence but threaten to derail everything she's journeyed to Ballymann to do. Moira must rely on the kindness of a handful of friends--and the strength of Sean, an unsettlingly handsome thatcher who keeps popping up unannounced--as she seeks to navigate a life she'd never dreamed of . . . but perhaps was meant to live.


"With an authenticity born of having lived in Ireland herself, the author deftly paints a lush landscape, colorful customs, and memorable characters with personal journeys of their own. This impressive debut marks Jennifer Deibel as an author to watch."--Jocelyn Green, Christy Award-winning author of Veiled in Smoke

"Fans of Catherine Marshall's Christy will want to clear room on their favorites shelf because this one's earned a place alongside!"--Kristy Cambron, bestselling author of The Paris Dressmaker and The Butterfly and the Violin


Jennifer Deibel
is a middle school teacher whose work has appeared on (in)courage, on The Better Mom, in Missions Mosaic magazine, and other publications. With firsthand immersive experience abroad, Jennifer writes stories that help redefine home through the lens of culture, history, and family. After nearly a decade of living in Ireland and Austria, she now lives in Arizona with her husband and their three children. You can find her online at www.jenniferdeibel.com.


Endorsements

"Jennifer Deibel's debut is rich in atmosphere, family mystery, and sweet romance. Her love of Ireland and her years spent there shine through in her depictions of characters and setting. Her vibrant descriptions make me want to visit the Emerald Isle myself. A gem!"

Julie Klassen, author of The Bridge to Belle Island

"Journey to the Emerald Isle with A Dance in Donegal! With an authenticity born of having lived in Ireland herself, the author deftly paints a lush landscape, colorful customs, and memorable characters with personal journeys of their own. Certain to appeal to fans of historical romance, this impressive debut marks Jennifer Deibel as an author to watch. I can't wait to read what she writes next."

Jocelyn Green, Christy Award-winning author of Veiled in Smoke

"Set against the backdrop of romance, beauty, and a firmly held faith, Jennifer Deibel's debut paints a lavish portrait of Ireland's Emerald Shores. A Dance in Donegal is a reader's dance with the beauty of well-threaded words, a storied Irish hamlet, and a vintage-inspired journey worthy of turning pages while cozied up by an old, stone fireplace. Fans of Catherine Marshall's Christy will want to clear room on their favorites shelf because this one's earned a place alongside!"

Kristy Cambron, bestselling author of The Paris Dressmaker and The Butterfly and the Violin

"The misty air of Donegal will seep into your soul just as swiftly and surely as the characters do in Jennifer Deibel's debut novel. Jennifer clearly knows and loves Ireland, and she fills every scene with vivid description and lilting dialogue. A Dance in Donegal is a romance, to be sure, yet there are secrets to uncover and a tender spiritual journey at its heart. Pour a cuppa and curl up with this gem of a story."

Liz Curtis Higgs, New York Times bestselling author of Mine Is the Night

"Jennifer Deibel's debut is a hallmark of atmospheric and immersive writing. Her obvious passion for Ireland is a deft brushstroke against a lush green canvas. Featuring a strong heroine and themes of resilience through adversity, this lovely and impeccably researched debut is a treatise on belonging and the many facets of home. Unabashedly romantic both in setting and in tone, A Dance in Donegal firmly establishes Deibel as a must-read author for fans of Kristy Cambron, Jennifer Delamere, and Sarah Ladd."

Rachel McMillan, author of The London Restoration

"Rich in atmosphere, deep in meaning, and sweet in nature. Jennifer Deibel's A Dance in Donegal captivated me. Moira's courage and compassion and Sean's solid strength make them endearing characters, and the supporting characters were both flawed and charming. I truly loved this story."

Sarah Sundin, bestselling and award-winning author of When Twilight Breaks and the Sunrise at Normandy series


The Author

  1. Jennifer Deibel

    Jennifer Deibel

    Jennifer Deibel is a middle school teacher whose work has appeared on (in)courage, on The Better Mom, in Missions Mosaic magazine, and others. With firsthand immersive experience abroad, Jennifer writes stories that help redefine home through the...

    Continue reading about Jennifer Deibel